2013 Canadian Masters Athletes of the Year

Canadian Masters Indoors 2013 M80 4X400

Canadian Masters Athletics has announced the winners of the 2013 Athletes of the Year Awards, which are awarded separately for men and women, in the two categories of Running/ Racewalking and Field Events, based on nominations received from members of the CMA and votes cast by the members of the CMA Board.

The winners will receive plaques commemorating their awards, which have again been kindly donated by Bill McIlwaine, a member of the CMA Board.  The official presentations to each of the winners will take place at the Athletics Canada Awards Banquet, which will be held in conjunction with the Athletics Canada Outdoor Track & Field Championships in Moncton, New Brunswick, on Thursday, June 26, or at another suitable occasion chosen by a winner.  The following are the recipients of the 2013 Canadian Masters Athletes of the Year Awards:

Male – Running/Racewalking:

Team M80 Ontario – Earl Fee, Ray Wardle, Bill Thompson, and Ed Whitlock (L-R photo)

In a break with tradition, the winner of this category is a relay team, which set the M80 World Record in the 4 x 400m Relay at the Canadian Masters Indoor Championship on March 17th, finishing in 6:06.23 and breaking the previous World Record of 6:34.65, held by another Canadian team.  At the same Championship, they also set an M80 4 x 200m Canadian record of 2:33.41.  At the Ontario Masters Outdoor Championships, they again broke a World M80 Record, this time in the 4 x 800m relay, with a time of 14:24.03, smashing the previous record of 16:01:00 held by a team from Australia.  Individually, each member of the team also won medals at either the Canadian or the Ontario Indoor Championships, placing in events from 60m to 3000m.

Runners-up in this category were: Ed Whitlock, M80 ON; Tom Dickson, M55/M60 BC; and Henry Charrois, M60 AB.

400m Semi KarlaFemale – Running/Racewalking:

Karla Del Grande, W60 ON

In 2013, Karla broke the Canadian W60 Outdoor records in the 100, 200 and 400m, in winning the Ontario and Canadian Championships.  She also won gold in the 100, 200 and 400m at the World Masters Championships in Porto Alegre, Brazil in October, breaking the World W60 records in the 200m in 28.11 and the 400m in 1:06.24. Her 100m time was also under the World record, but didn’t qualify due to a faulty wind reading.  The World records were previously held by Phil Raschker, who is considered to be one of the greatest masters sprinters of all time.  In winning the World Championships, Karla competed in a total of 8 races, with 25 to 30 competitors in each of the individual events.  During the year, she was also on relay teams, which broke Ontario 4 x 100m and 4 x 400m relay records, in the W50 age group.

The runner-up in this category was Christa Bortignon, W75 BC.

Christa Saint john

Female – Field Events:

Christa Bortignon, W75 BC

Receiving this award for the second year in a row, Christa won W75 gold medals in the Triple Jump, Long Jump and Heptathlon at the World Masters Outdoor Championships in Porto Alegre, Brazil in October.  During the year, she broke the World W75 records in the Indoor Triple Jump three times and the Outdoor Heptathlon three times, as well as the Canadian W75 record in the Outdoor Long Jump.  Christa also set World records in Track events during the year, and won a total of 8 gold medals in Track or Field events at the World Masters Athletics Championships.  She was honoured by World Masters Athletics as the 2013 Female Athlete of the Year, and was the British Columbia Masters Athlete of the Year for all sports.

There were no other nominees in this category.


Male – Field Events:

Boris Zaitchouk, M65 ON

Boris won the Gold medal in the M65 Hammer Throw at the World Masters Athletics Outdoor Championships in Porto Alegre, Brazil, with a distance of 57.42 metres, which is age-graded at 107.69%.  This was a Canadian record, so that Boris now holds all of the Canadian records for the Outdoor Hammer Throw from M45 to M65.

Runners-up in this category were Ted Rowan, M75/M80 SK; and Marek Glowacki, M70 BC.


Related Posts