About Us

Who We Are

Canadian Masters Athletics (CMA) pioneered active athletics for the young at heart, before the “fitness” boom began and before mass participation grew. Our members continue to demonstrate what “fitness” is all about.

The CMA encourages everyone to take part, at all levels of ability, and is recognized by World Masters Athletics (WMA), partnered with the IAAF, as Canada’s only national body responsible for Masters Athletic affairs. The CMA promotes and coordinates events in Track & Field, Cross Country, Road Racing and Race Walking, at all levels, from local to international, for Canadian masters age participants.

Membership in the CMA is open to anyone who is interested in masters and sub-masters fitness. By agreement with the WMA and the IAAF, “Masters” are defined as women and men 35 and over. Therefore, Masters championship competition is limited to those ages, in 5-year age groups, up to the age of the oldest competitor. Competition is also often provided for “sub-masters” of both sexes, who are younger than the official Masters ages, but are at least 30 years old; i. e., men and women aged 30 to 34.

Who is CMA for?

Athletes Age 35 and Over

jump icon

Passionate about athletics

Everyday people

Anyone looking to get fit and have fun

Anyone looking to join a great community

Who compete in events across the country and the world

Joining CMA

To join the CMA, you must be a Provincial Athletics Canada Branch member first. Provincial Athletics Canada Branch members are automatically included in the CMA Membership. If you want to take advantage of the many masters athletic opportunities, join your Provincial Branch.

Athletics Canada


Athletics Canada is the national sport governing body for track and field, para athletics, cross-country running and road running. Its purpose is to support high performance athletics excellence at the world level, and to provide leadership in developmental athletics. Athletics Canada is a not for profit, charitable organization operating under a board of directors elected by provincial / territorial members.