Board of Directors and Officers Announcement

April 21, 2020

To all Members of the CMA:

The 2019 Adjourned Annual Meeting of Members of the CMA held on Tuesday, April 14 included reports on the voting in the elections for Directors and Officers. In total, over 80 CMA Members took the time to vote in the elections on Trackie, more participation than we’ve ever had, and the Board thanks both the Members who voted and those who attended the Annual Meeting by telephone conference.

The CMA is pleased to announce its 2020 Elected Board of Directors and Officers.

• President – Paul Osland
• Secretary and Vice-President, Stadia – Vern Christensen
• Vice-President, Non-Stadia – Rob Jackson *New Officer
• Treasurer – Jack Castle
• Amy Ballon
• Wendy Melvin *New Director
• Dan Parsons *New Director
• Mike Sherar
• Katherine Willis
• Jay Yakabowich *New Director

For a complete listing of all Directors, Officers and volunteer Chairs, click here.

The Board welcomes new Officer, Rob Jackson, and Directors Wendy Melvin, Dan Parsons and Jay Yakabowich. Learn more about the new Board members and Officer below.

Robert Jackson – Vice-President, Non-Stadia

Although newly elected as an Officer in the role of Vice-President, Non-Stadia, Rob Jackson has served on the CMA Board since 2014 and is also the Track and Jumps Records Chair. Rob holds 28 road and track records in New Brunswick, and is a long-time active member of the Masters running community, competing nationally and internationally. He is a lawyer and is the Insurance Director for the Law Society of New Brunswick.

Wendy Melvin – Director

Wendy Melvin is excited about her new role as a Director, and eager to bring her fresh perspective to the Board. Previously, Wendy has served as Team Canada Manager at WMA Budapest, WMA Torun, Poland, and NCCWMA Toronto. Wendy has competed as a Masters athlete in sprints in Canada and internationally. She is currently the acting Chief Operating Officer of an International Group of Start-Up Companies in Canada, Europe and the US.

Dan Parsons – Director

Dan Parsons is newly elected to the CMA Board as a Director. Dan has organized Masters meets, served on several athletics boards, and has decades of athletics coaching experience. He has competed as a Masters athlete in Canada and internationally, and is currently the Canadian Masters M45 record holder in the discus. Dan is interested in representing the masters Field Events community on the CMA Board.

Jay Yakabowich – Director

Jay Yakabowich is a new Director on the CMA Board. Jay is a lifelong distance runner, active Master competitor and former carded athlete. Jay has been the Secretary on the Board of Directors of Ontario Masters Athletics, serving on the OMA Board for the past 10 years. He manages the Running Room store at the Beaches location in Toronto, and is the Chief Revenue Officer at High Road Human Capital Consulting.


Related Posts