Canadian Masters 2016 Athletes of the Year – Hall of Fame Induction


Hall of Fame Induction


Based on recommendations made by the Hall of Fame Committee, the CMA Board inducts into the Canadian Masters Athletics Hall of Fame individuals who are judged to have made significant contributions to masters athletics in Canada, in either of two categories – as Athletes or as Executives or Administrators.


Herb Phillips BC

For the year 2017, one individual will be inducted into the Hall of Fame, in the category of Athlete – Herb Phillips, from Burnaby, BC.

Herb has competed in masters running for almost 35 years, winning in Road Races from the Mile to 100K, Track events from 800m to 10,000m, and in Cross Country events.  Some highlights are:  11 age group Gold medals in Canadian Cross Country Championships, from 1992 to 2007; 12 Canadian age group records on the Track and the Roads, including two M55 records set in 1995, the 10K Road and the Marathon, which remain as records today, 22 years later; in 2000, the Gold medal winner in three 100K events, including the Canadian and the World Championships, and an estimated total in his career of over 1,040 races, totaling over 102,000 miles.

Canadian Masters Hall of Fame



Athlete of the Year Awards

The Earl Fee Award

Individual Track Events

This award is named after Earl Fee, the great masters middle distance track athlete who, at age 88, is still active and still holds many Canadian and World records, and continues to inspire others.

Ed Whitlock 5000m 2
M85 Ed Whitlock ON

Ed Whitlock from Milton, Ontario is the winner of the Earl Fee Award.  In 2016, after turning 85 early in the year, Ed set Canadian and World records in six events – Indoor 1500m and 3000m; and Outdoor 1500m, One Mile, 5000m and 10000m.  The athletics world was saddened by Ed’s passing away in March, at the age of 86.

 Runners-up for this award were W85 Lenore Montgomery BC,
and M55 Stuart Galloway ON


The Olga Kotelko Award

Individual Field Events

This award is named after the late Olga Kotelko, who set more age group World records than any other athlete, in all age groups from 80 to 95 years of age, and has been an inspiration to many people Worldwide, and a great ambassador for masters track and field. 

Margaret 3

W60 Margaret Rhebergen BC

Margaret Rhebergen from British Columbia is the winner of the Olga Kotelko Award.  Margaret set nine British Columbia masters records in 2016, including five in Field Events.  She set Indoor W60 records in the Triple Jump, Long Jump and High Jump, as well as Outdoor records in the Triple Jump and Long Jump.  Her five best results for the year are Age-Graded at 96.3%.    

 Runners-up to Margaret were Doug McLaren, M40 SK,
and Yannick Le Mouël, M45 QC.


The Ian Hume Award

Combined Events

This award is named after the late Ian Hume who, beginning with the first World Masters Championships in Toronto in 1975 and for a period of 25 years, won 29 World Championship medals and set 40 World records in 9 events, including the Pentathlon and the Decathlon.


M60 Reidar Zapf-Gilje BC

Reidar Zapf-Gilje from Vancouver is the repeat winner of the Ian Hume Award.  In 2016, Reidar won Gold medals in the four Combined Events in which he competed, often by several hundred points ahead of any competition.  These included wins in the M60 Decathlon and Throws Pentathlon in the Americas Masters Games, the Pentathlon at the Norwegian Masters Championships, and the Pentathlon at the Canadian Masters Outdoor Championships in Toronto.

 A close runner-up to Reidar for this award was Peter Zowkewych, M65 ON


The Ed Whitlock Award

Non-Stadia Events

This award is named after Ed Whitlock, the road racing legend who, at age 69, became the oldest man to run a marathon in under 3 hours, and today holds dozens of Canadian Road records, as well as World records in the Marathon for M70, M75, M80 and M85.

Ed - Longboat 2015 3 (2)

M85 Ed Whitlock ON

In addition to winning the award for Track Events, Ed has been chosen as the winner of the Non-Stadia Award set up in his name.  In October, 2016, at the Toronto Waterfront Marathon, Ed set Canadian and World M85 records in the Marathon in 3:56:38, becoming the first man over 85 to run the Marathon in less than 4 hours. In November, in Schenectedy, New York, he followed with a Canadian 15K road race record of 1:15:10, age-graded at 94% and approximately 30 minutes faster than the previous record.

 Runners-up in this category were Dmitry Babenko, M40 BC,
and Catherine Watkins, W 40 BC.



The Athlete of the Year and the Hall of Fame awards will be presented at the Athletics Canada Hall of Fame and Awards Gala, being held on Wednesday, July 5th, at the Delta Ottawa City Centre, in conjunction with AC’s 2017 Canadian Track & Field Championships.  Additionally, the recipients or their representatives will be invited to receive their awards at the CMA Awards Evening, to be held in conjunction with the CMA/NCCWMA Outdoor Track and Field Championships, on Saturday, August 12, 2017 in Toronto, or at another suitable occasion chosen by the winners or their representatives. 

 Canadian Masters Athletes of the Year Page


Related Posts