Les "Menopods"

Vétérans canadiens en athlétisme et Inspired Soles Podcasts se sont associés pour offrir aux membres de VCA une série en six parties sur le parcours des femmes, de la péri-ménopause à la ménopause et au-delà

Les productrices d'Inspired Soles - une directrice de VCA Carolyn Coffin et Kim Sankey - mettent à profit leur curiosité et leur expérience pour interviewer trois athlètes féminines, à différents stades, et poser des questions à trois experts sur la nutrition, l'entraînement, le sommeil et la santé mentale. Les deux animatrices sont des coureuses, ont une formation de physiothérapeute et commencent elles-mêmes à atteindre le stade de la péri-ménopause. Elles discuteront des hauts et des bas, afin de mettre en lumière toutes ces étapes et, nous l'espérons, d'encourager les femmes à discuter entre elles et avec leurs partenaires ou entraîneurs.

À VCA, nous espérons que cette série éclairera et soutiendra nos membres féminins... qui se situent toutes quelque part sur ce continuum. Nous voulons que vous sachiez que vous n'êtes pas seules et que, oui, il peut y avoir des défis qui influent sur votre vie et votre performance sportive, mais qu'il y a des solutions.

La série se déroule en anglais. 

Val Schonberg est diététiste agréée et titulaire d'une maîtrise en sciences de la nutrition de l'Université du Minnesota. Elle est certifiée par le conseil d'administration en tant que spécialiste en diététique sportive, praticienne certifiée en ménopause auprès de la Menopause Society (anciennement connue sous le nom de North American Menopause Society) et membre de l'Académie de nutrition et de diététique. Val possède un cabinet privé à Atlanta, en Géorgie, où elle se spécialise dans la santé de la quarantaine et la ménopause, la nutrition sportive récréative et professionnelle, tous les types de troubles de l'alimentation et l'aide aux individus pour se libérer des régimes et des troubles de l'alimentation.

Dans cette conversation, nous parlons de la tendance commune à trop réfléchir à la nutrition. Val nous invite à adopter l’idée que la nutrition peut être simple, que la quarantaine peut être une excellente occasion de repenser nos objectifs de santé et comment nous pouvons passer du poids au bien-être. Val discute de son approche judicieuse « l'alimentation d'abord » pour nourrir notre corps, des tests ou des suppositions en matière de supplémentation et des victoires sans échelle. Val est passionnée par la fourniture de soins nutritionnels aux populations vulnérables aux troubles de l'alimentation et par la promotion de messages nutritionnels positifs qui aident les gens à prendre des décisions éclairées concernant leur santé et à vivre une vie où ils sont en paix dans leur relation avec la nourriture et leur corps.

Amanda Thebem de Toronto, en Ontario, est une experte en conditionnement physique et en santé des femmes, et membre affiliée de la Société canadienne et nord-américaine de la ménopause. Elle est l'auteur du livre à succès d'Amazon, Menopocalypse : Comment j'ai appris à prospérer pendant la ménopause et comment vous pouvez aussi et possède près de 30 ans d'expérience dans l'industrie du conditionnement physique.

En tant qu'experte réputée en matière de condition physique et de santé des femmes, Amanda se joint à nous dans le cadre de cette série sur la ménopause pour parler du rôle que joue la condition physique pour survivre et s'épanouir à cette phase de la vie.

Amanda est également la première éducatrice en milieu de travail sur la ménopause au Canada. Grâce à la sensibilisation et à l'éducation sur la ménopause, elle aide les entreprises à normaliser le débat autour de la ménopause et à fournir un soutien qui touche 100 % de leurs employées.

Lorsque nous avons invité Amanda à nous éduquer, nous et nos auditeurs, nous savions qu'elle apporterait non seulement sagesse et connaissances, mais aussi un humour rafraîchissant et une approche pragmatique des sujets habituellement entourés de honte.

Dr Nese Yuksel est professeur titulaire à la Faculté de pharmacie et des sciences pharmaceutiques du Collège des sciences de la santé de l'Université de l'Alberta. Elle détient également une nomination conjointe auprès des services de santé de l'Alberta et exerce dans les domaines de la ménopause et de l'ostéoporose depuis près de 25 ans. Elle est passionnée par l’idée de mettre son expérience clinique au service de sa recherche et de son enseignement. Dr Yuksel est praticienne certifiée par la Société de la ménopause (MSCP, anciennement NCMP) et l'actuelle présidente de la Société canadienne de la ménopause. Fondamentalement, elle est très qualifiée pour parler ici de Ménopause 101 avec nous, mais elle apporte plus que son cerveau à cette conversation.

Carrie Oswald est une femme ménopausée de 56 ans qui a subi une hystérectomie à 33 ans pour des fibromes utérins qui provoquaient des règles constantes et une perte de sang extrême. Bien que son utérus ait été retiré et qu'elle n'ait plus de cycle menstruel mensuel, elle a toujours ses ovaires et a donc ressenti des symptômes classiques de la périménopause entre le milieu et la fin de la quarantaine, tels que des bouffées de chaleur, des sueurs nocturnes et des sautes d'humeur. Une fois que ces symptômes ont complètement disparu vers l’âge de 50 ans, Carrie a pris la décision active de se remettre en forme. Elle a rejoint Orange Theory Fitness et a adoré voir sa composition corporelle changer, son retour d'énergie et sa confiance monter en flèche. Un an ou deux plus tard, elle a décidé qu’il était temps de revenir au sprint sur piste, ce qu’elle n’avait pas fait depuis son adolescence. C’est là qu’elle a rencontré des gens comme elle et s’est inspirée des athlètes maîtres d’athlétisme partageant les mêmes idées, dont beaucoup étaient beaucoup plus âgés et plus rapides qu’elle. Plus récemment, Carrie a embauché un ancien olympien pour l'entraîner aux haies ! Carrie a surmonté beaucoup de choses au cours de son parcours en tant que Trinidadienne de deuxième génération, née et élevée au Canada, mais elle est également l'une des personnes les plus positives et optimistes que vous ayez jamais rencontrées. Cette conversation nous a laissé plein d’espoir quant à quoi peuvent ressembler les années postménopausiques.

Sasha Gollish is a 42-year old elite middle and long distance runner who holds the masters world record in the indoor mile (4:38.73) and also represented Team Canada in the marathon at the 2023 World Athletics   Championships in Budapest, Hungary. Sasha has been very open on social media about the challenging perimenopausal symptoms she’s been navigating for the past several years and we just love her honesty & transparency on a subject matter that has historically been clouded in secrecy and shame. Seeing female athletes at the top of their game well into their 40s is a relatively new phenomenon and yet it’s starting to happen across many disciplines. Always one to stand up for what she believes in, Sasha is now using her platform to change the narrative about this stage of life and show women that we can absolutely kick butt into midlife and beyond.

Jill Moreash est une femme de 56 ans qui s'épanouit absolument en tant que femme ménopausée. Elle est entraîneuse personnelle et instructrice de conditionnement physique en groupe au Variety Village à Scarborough, en Ontario, et elle possède et exploite une entreprise de conditionnement physique, Your Wellness Warrior. Athlète de longue date qui prend grand soin d'elle-même, Jill pensait qu'elle traverserait facilement la périménopause, mais elle ressentait encore certains des symptômes classiques entre le milieu et la fin de la quarantaine, tels que des bouffées de chaleur, des sueurs nocturnes, des troubles du sommeil, des sautes d'humeur, des douleurs articulaires, incontinence par impériosité et démangeaisons cutanées.

Au lieu d’être victime de sa situation, Jill a pris sur elle de se renseigner sur ce qui se passait et de partager ce qu’elle avait découvert avec les autres. Jill est actuellement inscrite au cours sur la ménopause 2.0 du Dr Stacy Sims et envisage de créer un cours sur la ménopause pour ses propres clientes. Jill croit fermement à l’ouverture de dialogues sains sur cette étape de la vie afin que les femmes n’aient pas à souffrir en silence comme elles l’ont fait au cours des générations passées.

Articles Similaires

fr_CAFrench

The Menopods

Canadian Masters Athletics and Inspired Soles Podcasts have partnered to bring our CMA members a 6-part series about the journey of women from peri-menopause, through menopause, and beyond.

CMA Director Carolyn Coffin and Kim Sankey, producers of Inspired Soles, bring their curiosity and experienced deep-diving skills to interview 3 women athletes, at varying stages, and ask questions of 3 experts, concerning nutrition, training, sleep and mental health. Both hosts are runners, have a background in physiotherapy, and are starting on the peri-menopause stage themselves. They will discuss the highs and lows, to shine a light on all of these stages, and to hopefully encourage discussion among women with each other and with their partners or coaches.

We at CMA hope this series will enlighten and support our female members…all of whom fall somewhere along this continuum. We want you to feel that you are not alone, and that yes, there may be challenges affecting your life and athletic performance, but there are solutions.

The series is conducted in English. 

Val Schonberg is a Registered and Licensed Dietitian with a master’s degree in nutrition science from the University of Minnesota. She is Board Certified as a Specialist in Sports Dietetics, a Certified Menopause Practitioner with The Menopause Society (previously known as the North American Menopause Society) and a Fellow of the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. Val owns a private practice in Atlanta, Georgia where she specializes in midlife health and menopause, recreational and professional sports nutrition, all types of eating disorders and helping individuals break free from dieting and disordered eating.

In this conversation we talk about the common tendency to overthink nutrition. Val invites us to embrace the idea that nutrition can be simple, that midlife can be a great opportunity to rethink our health goals, and how we can shift our focus from weight to wellbeing. Val discusses her sensible “food first” approach to nourishing our bodies, testing vs. guessing when it comes to supplementing, and non-scale victories. Val is passionate about providing nutrition care to populations vulnerable to disordered eating and promoting positive nutrition messages that help people make informed decisions about their health and live a life where they are at peace in their relationship with food and their body.

Amanda Thebe is a Fitness and Women’s Health Expert from Toronto, ON, and an affiliated member of the Canadian and North American Menopause Society. She is the author of the Amazon best-selling book, Menopocalypse: How I Learned to Thrive During Menopause and How You Can Too and has nearly 30 years of experience in the fitness industry.

As a highly-regarded expert on women’s fitness and health, Amanda joins us as part of this series on menopause to talk about the role fitness plays in surviving and thriving through this phase of life.

Amanda is also Canada’s first menopause workplace educator. Through menopause advocacy and education, she helps companies to normalize the conversation around menopause and provide support which impacts 100 percent of their female employees.

When we invited Amanda to educate us and our listeners, we knew she would not only bring wisdom and knowledge but refreshing humour and a no-nonsense approach to subjects usually shrouded in shame.

Dr. Nese Yuksel is a full Professor with the Faculty of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences at the College of Health Sciences at the University of Alberta. She also holds a cross-appointment with Alberta Health Services and has been practicing in the areas of menopause and osteoporosis for nearly 25 years. She is passionate about bringing her clinical experience to inform her research and teaching. Dr. Yuksel is a Menopause Society Certified Practitioner (MSCP, formerly NCMP) and the current president for the Canadian Menopause Society. Basically, she is very qualified to be here talking Menopause 101 with us but she brings more than her brains to this conversation.

Carrie Oswald is a 56-year old postmenopausal woman who underwent a hysterectomy at age 33 for uterine fibroids that were causing constant periods and extreme blood loss. Although her uterus was removed and she no longer had a monthly menstrual cycle, she still has her ovaries and therefore experienced classic perimenopausal symptoms in her mid-to-late forties such as hot flashes, night sweats, and mood swings. Once those symptoms completely subsided around age 50, Carrie made an active decision to get back into shape. She joined Orange Theory fitness and loved watching her body composition change, her energy return, and her confidence soar. A year or two later she decided it was time to return to sprinting on the track, something she hadn’t done since her teenage years. It was there that she met her people and took inspiration from like-minded masters track & field athletes, many of whom were much older and faster than she was. More recently Carrie hired a former Olympian to coach her for hurdles! Carrie has overcome a lot in her journey as a second-generation Trinidadian woman who was born & raised in Canada, but she’s also one of the most positive and optimistic people you will ever meet. This conversation left us hopeful about what the postmenopausal years can look like.

Sasha Gollish is a 42-year old elite middle and long distance runner who holds the masters world record in the indoor mile (4:38.73) and also represented Team Canada in the marathon at the 2023 World Athletics   Championships in Budapest, Hungary. Sasha has been very open on social media about the challenging perimenopausal symptoms she’s been navigating for the past several years and we just love her honesty & transparency on a subject matter that has historically been clouded in secrecy and shame. Seeing female athletes at the top of their game well into their 40s is a relatively new phenomenon and yet it’s starting to happen across many disciplines. Always one to stand up for what she believes in, Sasha is now using her platform to change the narrative about this stage of life and show women that we can absolutely kick butt into midlife and beyond.

Jill Moreash is a 56-year old who is absolutely thriving as a postmenopausal woman. She is a personal trainer and group fitness instructor at Variety Village in Scarborough, Ontario, and she owns & operates a fitness business, Your Wellness Warrior. A lifelong athlete who takes excellent care of herself, Jill figured she would sail through perimenopause but she still experienced some of the classic symptoms in her mid-to-late forties such as hot flashes, night sweats, sleep disturbances, moodiness, joint pain, urge incontinence and itchy skin.

Instead of being a victim of her circumstances, Jill took it upon herself to learn about what was going on and share what she discovered with others. Jill is currently enrolled in Dr. Stacy Sims’ menopause 2.0 course and plans to create a menopause course for her own clients. Jill is a firm believer in opening up healthy dialogues about this stage of life so that women don’t have to suffer in silence the way they have in generations past.

Related Posts

en_USEnglish